Happy amidst the waves of sadness

I’m been feeling waves of sadness and basically, out of sorts… ever since I heard about my friend‘s sudden death – killed in a helicopter crash just a few hours of where I’ve lived the past 2 months.  In “Oz”, far away from his family and close friends.  This ancient land where the Aboriginals have their “Dreamtime.” – connecting to all of life.  When I focus on that dimension, my friend’s spirit seems everywhere.  Like I can still hear his laugh and straight forward talking.  I admired his joie de vivre and the relationships he forged… he touched many with his bright personality and go gettem’ attitude.

I’d say he was one happy man, who loved his wife, family, and saving the oceans through filmmaking.  I’m inspired by his life… thanks Mike!

So, in the midst of sadness, how do I feel happy?  Being in the oceans makes me happy, and I’m even happier when I’m connecting with others in trying to make this world a better place.  Yet sometimes, it can be in the small things each day – saying hi to a stranger, petting a dog, or taking some time at sunset to admire all the loud talkative rainbow lorikeets up in the pine trees,  and being thankful for that deafening sound.

Oh to be happy, like the chirping birds!

Speaking of happiness, just read an awesome article on a new movie Adrian Belic and his brother just finished – “Happy.”  The same brothers who made “Genghis Blues“, an Academy Award nominated documentary.

Roco Belic says that while making the film, he discovered that more people were happy who value compassion, cooperation and a willingness to make the world a better place. “That astounded me — but it somehow made sense. People who express their love — who rejoice in the health and happiness of others — are more likely to feel loved and happy themselves.”  http://www.thehappymovie.com/film/

So, in honor of my friend passing, who valued the same “happy” principles… let’s celebrate life and be happy each day!  If that seems challenging, try doing 1 thing each day that makes you happy … ya never know, might start a movement!

As for the Happy Movement,  it’s already happening!  “www.WorldHappyDay.com” is coming up – February 11, 2012.  Join in, might cause some contagious smiling or ease the waves of sadness…

About Dolphingirl's "mermaid hotline"

The ocean is alive in every breath we're taking! Passionate about nonhuman and human rights, plus our nature with Nature. Loving seaweed, music, playing in the sea, as well as sharing my heart with friends, dolphins, and special land humans:} Favorite past time: Dreaming in the bath-tub!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

