My Porpoise in Life

Approaching Sydney

Image by epc via Flickr

Have you ever wondered why life leads you back to a place again?  Is it to see it with fresh eyes?  Years ago, coming on 27 years, I landed on a continent that was foreign to me…way before Crocodile Dundee appeared on the scene, before America or the world had known or tasted the beauty and earthyness of “down under”.  I came from living an idyllic life on the island of Maui… oblivious to city life and the richness of an Aboriginal ancient land littered with the English flag. Flying into Sydney, Australia back in 1985 on a job-offer with only $50 to my name was like leaping off the edge of a cliff…and I did just that, a swan dive into the big seas.  How did I know that I was landing into sprawling suburbs, bustling buildings, and industries with glimpses of nature peaking through?  I had imagined Aussieland and Sydney as a big expanding countryside, with beaches and quaint towns nestled about.

As I was greeted off the plane by my new employer, we drove through suburb after suburb…and in a state of stunness, I asked, “Are we in Sydney yet?” He laughed and replied, “this is all Sydney!”

Little did I know that this is where I would go from a young girl living off fruits, nuts and the simple life to drinking coffee and wandering through the streets wondering what was I doing in all this cementland.  I was a mermaid with a porpoise. That’s why I came here! The clues back in the States told me instinctively this was my next move. Yet how did I ever get here? Why on earth did I not research Australia before I took such a risk. Why did I go on blind faith alone? In that 1st month of landing in Oz, I felt in a strange way, I had voluntarily taken myself out of the warm tropical seas and plopped myself into an intense concrete tank of confusion. Luckily the dolphin call returned, yet only after I went through some unpleasant and shocking situations of urban existence.

Details to follow on that subject…

For now, time for this mermaid to put her toes in the ocean of the northern beaches of Sydney…yes, I’m back in Oz. And oddly enough, after living a life in New Zealand, this land feels like home to me. A lightness fills my body for the first time in years.

About Dolphingirl's "mermaid hotline"

The ocean is alive in every breath we're taking! Passionate about nonhuman and human rights, plus our nature with Nature. Loving seaweed, music, playing in the sea, as well as sharing my heart with friends, dolphins, and special land humans:} Favorite past time: Dreaming in the bath-tub!
This entry was posted in Beliefs, compassion, Consciousness, Dolphins & Whales, evolution, family, home, Inter-Species Communications, mermaid, mermaids, self discovery, Subconscious, The Human's Mind and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

